🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

2018/2019 African Power, Energy & Water Industry Awards finalists announced

The finalists in the this year's African Power, Energy & Water Industry Awards have been announced, with the gala dinner set for Wednesday, 15 May, forming part of the African Utility Week and PowerGen Africa conference and exhibition in Cape Town. The finalists hail from countries including Cameroon, Ghana, Malawi, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa and Uganda.



The finalists in the respective categories for the African Power, Energy & Water Industry Awards 2019 are as follows, in no particular order:

Individual Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

- Abderrahim Jamrani, technical director, Masen
- Wim Jonker Klunne, programme director, Energy and Environment Partnership, Southern and East Africa (EEP)
- Dale Robertson, president, Enerscan Engineering
- Wondimu Tekle Sigo, former state minister, Ethiopian Ministry of Water, Irrigation and Energy

Outstanding Contribution Award: Power

- Ricardo Amansure, community operations manager, Umoya
- Jonathan Amoako-Baah, CEO, Ghana Grid Company (GRIDCo)
- Joel Nana Kontchou, CEO, Eneo Cameroon SA
- Jassandra Nyker, CEO, BioTherm Energy

Outstanding Contribution Award: Water

- Andre Kruger, head Africa investment and integration desk (AVID), Nepad Business Foundation
- Alfonso Chikuni, CEO, Lilongwe Water Board
- Damas Alfred Mashauri, professor: civil engineering, University of Namibia: Engineering and IT
- Andras Szollosi-Nagy, president: governing board Sustainable Development Studies Institute, National University of Public Service

Outstanding Contribution Award: Young Leader

- Astria Fataki, Energy Generation, founder and president
- Lois Gicheru, Solafrique, founder and CEO
- Boitumelo Sehlake, Sehlake Energy Solutions, founder
- Pule Segale, Rina Consulting Ltd, civil engineer (site manager)

Organisational Awards

Power Service Provider of the Year

- Ghana Grid Company Ltd
- Umeme Limited
- Abuja Electricity Distribution Company
- Energy Utility Corporation Limited EUCL

Water Service Provider of the Year

- Hessequa Municipality
- Umgeni Water
- Lilongwe Water Board
- Ontec Systems (Pty) Ltd

Grid-Tied Renewable Energy Project (10MW +)

- Greenmillenia
- Jinko Solar
- Kathu Solar Thermal Power Plant

Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project (under 5MW)

- BBOX
- Ecomandate Foundation
- Rubagabaga Hydro Power Limited
- African Sustainable Energies
- Eaton Electric South Africa